recent | old | profile | | design | host

Running On Empty
08.05.2004 at 10:24 a.m.

Running On Empty

The world seems to be passing me by. I feel as though I am running through, my goal so set in it's ways that I cannot see beyond it. I'm searching. Searching to find where I went wrong. Wrong with my time, wrong with my heart, wrong with my evanescent dreams... once so clear, so rich.

This desert seems to be growing. Stretching out as far out as I could possibly see. My body is weak; weak from love, weak from running. I am weak from trying to hold on to hope. Hope that the brilliant light that once raged in my heart has not been extinguished forever by Mr. Wrong. The man that woke me, broke me, folded me up and put me in his pocket. The one who has left me alone; wanting and waiting.

I try to look. To see the possiblities outside... but all I can see is the road in front of me. Where the gravel meets my pounding feet, my pounding heart, moving so fast in a motionless world... I am afraid now. Afraid that I cannot stop, that I don't want to. That I will forever run on empty.

previous | next